Mohave-Bones.blogg.se

Life, Works and Synesthesia

Into the Gramophone

Kategori: Synesthesia

These are my favourite pastime, it has always been.
 
Since I can remember, I sketched my family based on colours and textures, unknown to me that I was impersonating their voices on paper. They all thought my notebooks were a hot mess until my nan started recognising patterns (same people in different pages). I believe my synesthesia comes from that side of my family, her sister apparently had similar (chaotic) notebooks but at the beginning of the century nobody had paid much attention, nowadays they probe you through childhood to diagnose not-crazy, just funky-wired.
 
While everybody in preschool was having a go at stick figures, I would argue that the yellow triangular lines and scratched paper folds were clearly my mom, but a bubble head and 5 sticks had nothing to do with her. Consequently my teacher used to display my 'abstract' works as how-not-to-draw stick figures. Fun times.
 
I still wonder what part of a stick figure is not an abstraction.
 
 
Details from 'Into the Gramophone' Series © BB Nielsen 2008 
(The original artwork is not in B&W)
                                 

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: